Hotmail: (Adverts & Inquiries Only)

Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) 422 views


Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA)


Something About Company

About the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA)

The Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) is a Nigerian ministry that administers the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria. It is headed by a Minister appointed by the President, assisted by a Permanent Secretary, who is a career civil servant. Presently, the FCT Minister is Mohammed Bello, assisted by Permanent Secretary Dr. Ajakaiye Babatope.

The Federal Capital Territory Administration was created by President Olusegun Obasanjo on December 31, 2004 following the scrapping of the Ministry of the Federal Capital Territory (MFCT). Seven new Mandate Secretariats were created for Education, Transport, Agriculture and Rural Development, Health and Human Services, Social development, Legal Services and Area Council. These Secretariats were headed by non-career civil servants in an attempt to reduce administrative bottlenecks.

Two agencies are administered by the FCTA: Abuja Environmental Protection Board, concerned with waste collection and disposal and other environmental matters, and Abuja Geographical Information System, which provides a computerized geo-spatial data infrastructure and a one stop for all land matters for the FCT, used to facilitate land acquisition and collect all land related revenue for the FCT.